Andrey Sakharov – Academician of Conscience

Graphic novel by Katya Guschina

Katya Guschina came to the International Memorial seeking advice on her printmaking final project which she dedicated to Andrey Sakharov (hopefully, our suggestions have been helpful). We returned the favor by coming to Katya’s final year project presentation and invited her to display her works in our exhibition area.

This year marked the 100th birthday of Andrey Sakharov, and we are expecting another 100 years of exploring the ways to reflect on an individual struggling against a totalitarian regime and winning this battle. Katya Guschina, who was born when Sakharov had no longer been around, comes forward with her own approach.

Well, I decided to make а book about academician Andrey Sakharov. Eventually, I managed to accomplish it, but it took some time to get there.

There is no way you can make а nice thing without love. In order to fall in love with Andrei Sakharov, I had to understand him. As it turned out, I was actually closer to him than it had seemed to me, and we have much in common. Firstly, Sakharov claimed that the university played а decisive role in his life. So it did in mine. Secondly, we both lived in the city of Nizhny Novgorod for some time, although it used to be named Gorky at the time of Sakharov’s exile. Thirdly, I too have been transformed by love. 

Thankfully, more and more pieces of information about the conditions of dissidents’ life under the Soviet regime are being revealed nowadays. Therefore we can get deeper awareness and understanding of the darkness and horrors these people faced. It still doesn’t help us with the question – how did they manage to cope with this terror? In my work I am presenting one of the possible answers. It is not the only option and not a magic wand, but it is simple and works more often than never. The way to fight darkness is to laugh, to mock the darkness itself. The laughter found its way through fairy tales in verse by Chukovsky and Soviet jokes (called Anecdotes in Russian). We need to laugh in order to see that the Emperor has no clothes on. We need to laugh, so that we can encourage а friend or lighten the mood. 

I made these drawings using the drypoint technique and a ballpoint pen. Drypoint was used to depict the Soviet reality: massive, black and white, unshakeable. The image is incised into plastic with а needle, then it is covered with paint and then pressed and printed on paper. The result is a black and white print, a bit noisy like a front page of the Soviet newspaper Pravda but with a touch of vibrancy, reminiscent of the satirical magazine Krokodil. Meanwhile, Sakharov and other dissidents went beyond those grey brick walls, beyond the limitations of the era. You can’t capture them with a needle and paint. That’s why Sakharov, his texts and talks and the people around him are always depicted with а ballpoint pen over the drypoint impressions.

The work process wasn’t always perfect or easy. At the time when I had been especially doubtful about the prospects of my work, I found а fascinating letter addressed to Andrei Sakharov, to the Committee of Human Rights Defense. The letter was sent by someone with а surname Gushchin. From then on, I had no doubts.

Katya Guschina

Artist and cartographer Katya Guschina who draws travel books, comics, graphic novels and fieldwork illustrations received her bachelor’s degree in graphic design in 2017 from HSE University (Higher School of Economics), Moscow, Russia. In the same year her first book ‘Crazy Year’ picturing her trip to Iran was published. In 2018 her travel book on the journey across Russia on Trans-Siberian railway appeared in print and her third book, the illustrated bio "100 reasons why Lev Tolstoy is crying’, is under way.

In 2021 Katya received her Master’s Degree from HSE University by presenting her drypoint print graphic novel about Andrey Sakharov. This work is displayed in our exhibition area.

Project Design and Set-Up:

Anna Bulgakova
Katya Guschina
Alexandra Polivanova

We are grateful to those who have helped us with the project:

Boris Belenkin
Elena Zhemkova
Tatyana Kormer
Yegor Larichev
Aleksey Makarov
Alexandra Okhotina
Natalya Petrova
Vladimir Salmin
Nataliya Stefanovich
Darya Fadeeva

We are grateful to the Delegation of the European Union to Russia for the support

You can visit the exhibition ‘Andrey Sakharov – Academician of Conscience’ in the hallway of the International Memorial from September 9 to November 23, 2021. Opening hours are 11 a.m. – 7 p.m. daily except Sundays

 

Partners
Представительство Европейского Союза в Российской Федерации

Выставка «Андрей Сахаров – академик совести»

Графика Кати Гущиной

Катя Гущина готовила дипломную графическую работу об Андрее Сахарове и пришла в Международный Мемориал за советом – надеемся, что наши советы не были бесполезны. Мы в свою очередь пришли к Кате на защиту диплома и пригласили показать работу в нашем выставочном пространстве. Сахарову в этом году исполняется 100 лет, и, наверное, еще столько же (а на самом деле дольше) мы будем искать способы думать о Сахарове, о борьбе человека с тоталитарным государством и о победе в этой борьбе. И Катя Гущина, которая родилась уже после смерти Сахарова, предлагает свой способ.

Итак, я решила сделать книгу про академика Сахарова. И мне удалось это, но не сразу.

Невозможно сделать хорошую вещь без любви. А чтобы полюбить Сахарова, нужно его понять. Оказалось, что я ближе к нему, чем я думала, и у нас есть немало общего. Во-первых, Сахаров писал, что университет сыграл для него определяющую роль в жизни. Так было и у меня. Во-вторых, и Андрей Дмитриевич, и я какое-то время жили в одном и том же городе, только назывался он по-разному: Горький и Нижний Новгород. И в-третьих, и его, и меня изменила большая любовь.

Я благодарна тому, что сейчас появляется все больше информации о том, с чем приходилось сталкиваться диссидентам в советское время. Мы можем в полной мере увидеть и понять, с какой тьмой и каким ужасом пришлось им иметь дело. Но мы все еще не знаем ответа на вопрос: а как все эти люди смогли с этим справиться? В своей работе я предлагаю один из ответов. Он не единственный, это не чудесная волшебная палочка, но он прост и он иногда даже работает. Оружие борьбы с тьмой – это смех. Смех над тьмой. Это и «Тараканище» Чуковского, и советские анекдоты. Смех нужен для того, чтобы поверить – «а король-то голый!», чтобы поддержать друга, чтобы разрядить обстановку. 

Техника, в которой выполнены эти работы, – сухая игла и шариковая ручка. Сухая игла отвечала за советскую составляющую: объемную, черно-белую, непоколебимую. На пластике с помощью иглы процарапывался рисунок, он покрывался краской, а затем с помощью станка прижимался и печатался на бумаге. Таким образом получался черно-белый оттиск, в котором есть немного шума от передовиц «Правды» и динамики – от «Крокодила». Ну а сам Сахаров и его окружение выходили из этих серых блоков, из этих пределов эпохи, их просто не удавалось схватить сухой иглой. Поэтому он и все его окружение, тексты и разговоры всегда нарисованы поверх – шариковой ручкой. 

Не все всегда шло гладко. В дни особенных сомнений в сахаровском сборнике я нашла удивительное письмо, которое адресовалось «Андрею Сахарову, в Министерство прав в Защиту человека»… Фамилия отправителя была «Гущин». Больше я не сомневалась…

Катя Гущина

 

Художница и картограф Катя Гущина работает с тревелбуками, комиксами, графическими романами, иллюстрирует экспедиции. Катя родилась в Нижнем Новгороде, в 2017-м закончила бакалавриат ВШЭ по специальности «графический дизайн». В том же году вышла ее первая книга – «Сумасшедший год», посвященная поездке в Иран, в 2018-м – тревелбук «Москва – Владивосток» про путешествие по Транссибу. Сейчас готовится к изданию третья книга, иллюстрированная биография «100 причин, почему плачет Лев Толстой».

В 2021 году Катя Гущина защитила в ВШЭ магистерскую работу – графический роман про Андрея Сахарова, выполненный в технике сухой иглы; именно эта работа и представлена на выставке.

Над выставкой работали: 

Анна Булгакова
Катя Гущина
Александра Поливанова

Нам помогали: 

Борис Беленкин
Елена Жемкова
Татьяна Кормер
Егор Ларичев
Алексей Макаров
Александра Охотина
Наталья Петрова
Владимир Салмин
Наталия Стефанович
Дарья Фадеева

Благодарим за поддержку Представительство Европейского Союза в России

Выставку «Андрей Сахаров – академик совести» можно посмотреть в холле Международного Мемориала с 9 сентября по 23 ноября 2021 года ежедневно, кроме воскресенья, с 11.00 до 19.00.

Выставка проходит в рамках национальных мероприятий, посвященных 100-летию со дня рождения А. Д. Сахарова

Партнёры
Представительство Европейского Союза в Российской Федерации