Postscriptum exhibition

Ostarbeiter in the Third Reich

Photo by Natasha Josef

A year after the beginning of digitization of the most valuable part of the collection of the history of forced labor International Memorial staff, volunteers and interns organized an exhibition based on the described and scanned materials. The exhibition was called «Postscriptum» and was opened in one of the Moscow schools. 

In 1941 the world war reached the USSR. Only a few months after the German assault huge territories of Ukraine, Belarus, western, north-western and southern parts of Russia were occupied by German and allied troops. With the beginning of occupation a new life started for the residents of these areas. Many of them were forced to leave their houses to work at plants and farms in Germany, Poland and Austria. Workers from the Soviet Union were given a bureaucratic name of «ostarbeiters» in the Third Reich (German «East workers»). Their emblem – the OST identification patch on the breast – became a symbol of humiliation and free labor for the benefit of a hostile state and army.

However, behind the symbols and bureaucratic cliches we find the fates of real people, who grew up, made friends, loved and died in a war-struck Europe. They did not know the language of the country they found themselves in, did not know how the war would end or what would happen to them in a year or two. And upon return to the USSR did not know what to do with their experience. They could only share it with each other, as a person who spent the war at the other side of the front, the non-Soviet side, was considered a traitor.

It lasted for almost 50 years. And then an astonishing thing happened. In response to a newspaper article running that Memorial Society would be dealing with the payment of compensations for free labor in Germany the organization received more than 320 thousand letters in two months. People sent detailed stories of their lives in Germany, personal documents and photos. Thanks to the mistake of the journalist (as of that moment Memorial had nothing to do with compensation payments) a whole generation of victims of forced labor spoke out. Now you can also hear their voices.

Soviet victims of the German forced labor system were able to receive compensations only after the collapse of the Soviet Union. Two waves of compensation payments from the German government and private companies in the 1990s and beginning of 2000s embraced practically all those who could prove their stay in Germany. The letters received by Memorial also played a significant role in that process.

By various estimates from 3,2 to 5 million Ostarbeiter worked in Germany during the war. These people survived the horrors of German occupation and forced deportation, saw a thriving Germany with the eyes of slaves with no rights, witnessed the destruction of cities by Soviet and allied air force, returned to their home country devastated by war as traitors and outcasts. Their story is a story of the horror of war and mass discrimination. And we have yet to reflect upon and understand this story.

The exhibition represents a labyrinth. Its several road forks correspond to global forks in the fate of an ostarbeiter (for instance, finding oneself at production site or in agriculture). According to the «rules» the choice of this or that way excludes a chance to return. Thus we wanted to show that the attitude towards those events to a large extent depends on peripeteia of personal biographies. Studying the photographs, documents and fragments of memoirs sent to Memorial, the visitors answer the questions asked on the display stands and record on special cards a biography of an imaginary ostarbeiter made up from the shatters of hundreds of biographies presented in our archive. 

Interviews with authors and the animated film «Ostarbeiter» (directed by Poina Kampioni) produced in the course of an archive internship for school students in International Memorial make an inherent part of the exhibition. 

The exhibition is mobile, and the authors will be happy to organize it in regional museums and schools. To organize the exhibition in your city, write to curator Evelina Rudenko – rudenko@memo.ru

Curators – Nikita Lomakin, Evelina Rudenko.

Authors of the exhibition – Maria Dubovskaya, Sofia Eremina, Elisaveta Novokreschenova, Natalia Rakitina, Lena Reger, Anastasia Sokova, Elisaveta Starikova, Margarita Khakhanova.

Designer – Stas Zhitsky.

Editor – Natalia Altukhova.

The archive was digitized and exhibition organized with the participation of Ilya Alexeev, Natalia Baryshnikova, Nikita Bityutsky, Daria Bogdan, Dmitry Vasiliev, Anna Vasyukova, Ekaterina Gurtovaya, Anna Dzyadko, Kira Zhukovskaya, Mariana Kozlova, Fyodor Morgunov, Sofia Morgunova, Elena Novoselova, Vassily Starostin.

Acknowlegements to Elena Zhemkova (International Memorial), Alyona Kozlova (International Memorial), Irina Ostrovskaya (International Memorial), Irina Scherbakova (International Memorial), Evgeny Kulbatsky (Rastr-Technology), Zhanna Nasupkina (the Book Institute).

The exhibition is implemented with the financial support of the EVZ Foundation and the Enlightener Prize.

© International Memorial, 2018

 

 

 

Partners
Фонд «Память, ответственность и будущее» Премия «Просветитель» Центр Гиляровского

Выставка Postscriptum

Восточные рабочие в Третьем Рейхе

Спустя год после начала оцифровки наиболее ценной части коллекции по истории принудительного труда сотрудники Международного Мемориала, волонтеры и практиканты подготовили выставку на основании описанных и отсканированных материалов. Выставка получила название «Postscriptum» и была открыта в одной из московских школ. Осенью 2018 г. экспозиция будет представлена широкой публике в Центре Гиляровского.

В 1941 году большая война докатилась до СССР. Всего через несколько месяцев после нападения Германии огромные территории Украины, Белоруссии, Запада, Северо-Запада и Юга России были заняты войсками немцев и их союзников. С началом оккупации для жителей этих земель началась другая жизнь. Многие были вынуждены покинуть дома, чтобы работать на заводах и фермах в Германии, Польше и Австрии. Работники из Советского Союза получили в Третьем Рейхе бюрократическое название «остарбайтеры» (нем. «восточные рабочие»). Их эмблема – нагрудная нашивка «OST» – стала символом унижения и бесплатного труда на благо враждебного государства и армии.

Однако за символами и бюрократическими клише стоят судьбы живых людей, которые взрослели, дружили, любили и умирали в охваченной войной Европе. Они не знали языка страны, в которую попали, не знали, чем закончится война и что с ними случится через год или два. А после возвращения в СССР они не знали, что делать с пережитым ими опытом. Поделиться им можно было лишь друг с другом, ведь в Советском Союзе «репатриант» – человек, проведший войну не на советской стороне фронта, – считался предателем.

Так продолжалось почти 50 лет. И тут произошло удивительное. В ответ на статью в газете, где сообщалось, что историческое общество «Мемориал» будет заниматься выплатой компенсаций за бесплатный труд в Германии, на адрес общества за два месяца пришло более 320 тысяч писем. Люди присылали подробные истории жизни в Германии, личные документы и фотографии. Благодаря ошибке журналиста (на тот момент «Мемориал» никак не был связан с компенсациями) с нами заговорило целое поколение жертв принудительного труда. Теперь их голоса сможете услышать и вы.

Советские жертвы немецкой системы принудительного труда смогли получить компенсации лишь после распада Советского Союза. Две волны компенсаций от немецкого правительства и частных компаний в 1990-х и начале 2000-х годов охватили практически всех, кто смог подтвердить свое пребывание в Германии. Заметную роль в этом процессе сыграли и письма, полученные обществом «Мемориал».

По разным оценкам, в Германии за годы войны трудились от 3,2 до 5 миллионов остарбайтеров. Эти люди пережили ужасы немецкой оккупации и насильственной депортации, увидели благоденствующую Германию глазами бесправных рабов, стали свидетелями разрушения городов под бомбежками советской и союзной авиации, вернулись в разоренную войной родную страну как предатели и изгои. Их история – это история ужаса войны и массовой дискриминации. И эту историю еще предстоит осмыслить и понять.

Выставка устроена в виде лабиринта. Несколько его развилок соответствуют глобальным развилкам в судьбе попавшего на принудительные работы остарбайтера (например, оказаться на производстве или в сельском хозяйстве). Согласно «правилам», выбор того или иного пути исключает возможность вернуться. Таким образом мы хотели показать, что отношение к происходившим событиям во многом зависит от перипетий персональных биографий. Изучая фотографии, документы и фрагменты присланных в «Мемориал» воспоминаний, посетители отвечают на задаваемые на стендах вопросы и фиксируют на специальных карточках биографию воображаемого остарбайтера, сложенную из сотен осколков биографий, представленных в нашем архиве. 


Кураторы – Никита Ломакин, Эвелина Руденко.

Авторы выставки – Мария Дубовская, Софья Еремина, Елизавета Новокрещенова, Наталия Ракитина, Лена Регер, Анастасия Сокова, Елизавета Старикова, Маргарита Хаханова.

Дизайнер – Стас Жицкий.

Редактор – Наталья Алтухова.

В оцифровке архива и подготовке выставки принимали участие Илья Алексеев, Наталья Барышникова, Никита Битюцкий, Дарья Богдан, Дмитрий Васильев, Анна Васюкова, Екатерина Гуртовая, Анна Дзядко, Кира Жуковская, Марьяна Козлова, Федор Моргунов, Софья Моргунова, Елена Новоселова, Василий Старостин.

Благодарность Елене Жемковой (Международный Мемориал), Алене Козловой (Международный Мемориал), Ирине Островской (Международный Мемориал), Ирине Щербаковой (Международный Мемориал), Евгению Кульбацкому (Растр-технология), Жанне Насупкиной (Институт Книги).


Выставка выполнена при финансовой поддержке фонда «EVZ» (Память. Ответственность. Будущее) и премии «Просветитель».

© Международный Мемориал, 2018

 

Партнёры
Фонд «Память. Ответственность. Будущее»